The Navy Hill neighborhood, named as a tribute to nearby naval victories during the War of 1812, was settled by German immigrants beginning in 1810. It became a vibrant African American community by the turn of the century. Navy Hill’s distinctive character was embodied in the buildings here between North Third and Thirteenth Streets. Navy Hill School was the only Richmond public school to employ black teachers. Area landmarks included the Bill “Bojangles” Robinson home, Good Samaritan Society, Phyllis Wheatley YMCA, and numerous churches. The construction of Interstate 95 destroyed Navy Hill in the 1960s.
Year On Marker: 2010
Original Sponsor: Virginia Biotechnology Research Park and Department of Historic Resources
Geographic Location: Richmond (City)
Physical Description of Location: 400 E Jackson St, Richmond, VA 23219. In front of Biotech 2 Building.
Display on Google Maps
Display on Google Earth