Warning: assert(): Assertion failed in /home4/markerh/public_html/wp-load.php on line 1
Isle of Wight County Z-242 | Marker History

Isle of Wight County Marker, Z-242

Originally called Warrosquyoake County, for the Warraskoyack Indians who lived here, Isle of Wight County was one of the original eight shires (counties) recognized in Virginia by 1634. It was renamed Isle of Wight in 1637, probably for the island off the south coast of England. Led by Capt. Christopher Lawne, the English first settled here in 1619 on Lawne's Creek. A part of the county became Southampton County in 1749 while a portion of Nansemond County was added to Isle of Wight County in 1769. St. Luke's Church, a National Historic Landmark, is located here. Isle of Wight is the county seat.

Marker Information:
Additional Information: Original Marker Replaced under Replacement Marker Program using Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21) Funds. A Federal program enacted into law in 1998.
Date Approved by DHR: 09/09/03
Year On Marker: 2003
Region: Tidewater Region
Geographic Location: Isle of Wight County
Physical Description of Location: Smithfield, VA 23430. Located on Colonial Trail East (Rt. 10), 1 mile east of the junction of Colonial Trail East (Rt. 10) and Moonlight Road. Marker is on the left when traveling east on Colonial Trail East (Rt. 10).
GPS Location: 37.075017,-76.692722
Display on Google Maps
Display on Google Earth